Shopping around

Had a fairly good, less-plastic shopping trip. I committed some plastic sins though.

1). Underarm deodorant.  Ok, I tried baking soda on its own,  it went great for about 3 days. Then things got stinky. I have to travel to (downstairs and upstairs also) the laundromat so needless to say I was concerned about making multiple trips in a week. I will work further on this however. I was hoping that my underarm deodorant would last me long enough until I performed more experiments. But I’ll start working on it. Especially before summer hits as it gets up to 100 plus degrees where I live.

2). Cheese. I love cheese! We all know the trials for finding plastic-less cheese. I got the biggest chunk I could get though.

3). Wrapped chicken breasts. I rarely eat meat so this will be my only meat purchased for the month. I can make myself feel better knowing this. Lol.

4.) The packaging for my cat’s litter (I don’t think it’s recyclable). I use Fresh Results corn cob litter. I love it as I’m able to flush it and that eliminates my plastic bag dilemma for disposal. I live upstairs so its not a quick hop to the trash bin.

My trip went really well though and I was able to use my glass jars for the bulk bins. I was able to use them the time before but it turned into a huge ordeal as the cashier was actually a floor person and was really thrown by the whole process. There was a long line behind me filled with angry people glaring at me and my jars with hatred. I bought some reusable bags so I’m thinking that will make my trips much more pleasant.

Spotted some awful plastic excess examples while out. 20150218_175031

Ok I used these, I confess! I used them because truthfully I was too lazy to pick off one strand of dental floss. Uggghh. Imagine how many of these are stacking up! And there’s these guys too.

20150218_175129

The refill pack doesn’t even have 30 in it, but 28. I wonder how often most people discard the wands and buy a new fresh one? Now it’s not just toothbrushes being tossed.

I was happy to find a solution to the plastic wrapped toilet paper though, and it’s inexpensive.  There’s no way I have the money for Seventh Generation or any other stuff that’s $17. So here it is, a single roll for $1. 20150218_175258

This wouldn’t be known for being the uhhhhhh… comfiest toilet paper as I’m pretty sure it’s along the lines of public restroom toilet paper.  But hey, it not wrapped in plastic.

Alright I’m wrapping up for the night. I’ll get some pictures of my workplace posted soon. The sheer amount of junk will astound you!

5 responses to “Shopping around

  1. I feel ya! Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I, too, have started working towards a Zero Waste Life, and I am amazed by the amount of plastic in our lives! I live in a rural area, so we don’t have any options for bulk buying – it just makes me so frustrated. So, like you, I try to make the best choices I can, and recycle as much as possible. Have you investigated TerraCycle (online)? If you can sign up for one of their brigades, you can recycle more items than your town or city will take. Good luck – I’ll be following your progress!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I ran out of my homemade deodorant and made some just this morning before my shower. It took about 5 minutes. I mix together 1/4 cup cornstarch, 1/4 cup baking soda and 2 tbsp melted coconut oil to make a cream that I can easily apply. I usually add essential oil but I don’t think it’s necessary. This will last about 4 or 5 months, as you need only about a pea size amount. The stuff really works.

    I’m with you on the cheese. Cheese is a big problem. I had been buying entire rounds of it but my store no longer carries the particular brand I liked (small round, no plastic). I will have to talk to the cheesemongers there. Good luck with your quest!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have tried to find alternatives to plastic deodorant dispensers as well and just today heard about deodorant bars from LUSH? I haven’t tried it myself but it might be something worth checking out. I just looked at their online website and they have deodorant bars and powders. Cheers! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ll try the homemade one soon. I used just coconut oil and rubbed a touch of baking soda over it last night. It’s so weird not having an antiperspirant on, I feel moisture and think, oh no!
    Jessie, the T’eo one by Lush looks yummy! All the comments about the nice smell have me intrigued.

    Like

Leave a Reply

