Timesaver?

I’ve been lounging around and trying to determine whether a plastic-free and zero waste lifestyle saves time. I know that it definitely doesn’t save me time in the kitchen.  I am one who rarely used to cook. I grabbed a frozen meal and popped it in the microwave most times. Now I actually have to cook. :GASP:  So, yes, I’m spending much more time in the kitchen. I have to say that it’s not as bad as I feared it might be. I’ve actually had to do something else foreign to me, get creative. I’ve got some stale heels of bread left that will probably become bread crumbs soon. I’m making an effort to use the food I have on hand which has led to some interesting meals. I’m guessing I’m doing what our plastic-free ancestors did, making do with what I have. Novel concept with the way we live today.

I made my own granola!  I realized I had some oats floating around and a bunch of other doo dads I’d gotten from the store. A quick Google trip sent me here, and I was on my way to hippy granola land! And it turned out great. I think I’ll reconsider the use of flax seeds next batch as I really didn’t enjoy the few times I’ve choked on one. Tiny little devils! Here is a picture of my fancy granola.

image

Pretty nice, eh? Tonight I made a burrito bowl, and made rice pudding with the leftover rice. These are cooking adventures I never would have done before my new lifestyle.  So, how have you guys gotten creative (doesn’t have to be the kitchen)? Do you think you’re saving more time now than before? Let me know!

6 responses to “Timesaver?

  1. At first, I don’t think a Zero Waste lifestyle saves you any time. You are preparing things you never have before and putting systems into place that will, hopefully, save you time in the future. But is it the right thing to do? Absolutely! I have been doing this for 2 months now, and I can finally say that certain things have become automatic – refusing straws and napkins at the restaurant, bringing my own take-out container, shopping without bringing home tons of plastic, etc. It does get easier, I promise!

    As for your granola, it looks great! It really is healthier and tastes so much better homemade. May I recommend my granola recipe? It’s super easy… http://downhomesouthjersey.me/2012/05/21/red-white-and-blue-granola/

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This definitely is worth the extra time. I like my creative side that’s blooming 😀
    Thanks for the recipe, I’m sure I’ll be trying it soon as I don’t think my granola is going to last me long!

    Like

  3. In our experience plastic free definitely doesn’t save time, it involves shopping around (no one-stop shop for us any more), planning ahead (which I was very bad at), more cooking (which I enjoy), and lots of time persuading people in shops to pack my stuff without plastic and having to explain why over and over again. Still it does get easier as you go on and some of it is quite enjoyable. I’ve just poured a cup of tea from my tea pot, while at work, to avoid using teabags (with their hidden plastic mesh inside) and it seems so much more enjoyable than from a rapidly made cup with a teabag – here in the UK we can’t manage without tea! For anyone interested in our UK experience it’s at: https://goingplasticfree.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi there. I think spending more time in the kitchen is a good thing. Cooking most of your meals from scratch will make you a lot healthier. At first it can look like a lot of hassle and is it really worthy? But soon you will see the benefits. You will spent no time at all waiting at the doctor’s or in hospital. Since I started changing I hardly ever get sick, my child is two and a half and we have completely avoided a medicalised upbringing and she’s really healthy. I have no time to worry, a big thing for parents, only time to enjoy. Let’s face it: if you are sick you cannot really enjoy life. Thanks for liking my firs post: https://livinginharmonywithnature.wordpress.com. It is hugely encouraging to find people with similar goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s quite a few less-waste, less-plastic folks here with tons of stuff on their blogs. Pretty cool!
      I haven’t had a cold or flu since I kicked off my goals in December. I normally get sick at least once in the winter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

