Deodorant questions and other stuff

Ok, I’ve still been experimenting with the homemade deodorant.  My current formula is coconut oil,  neem powder,  and baking soda.  It is green,  but doesn’t show up green on my skin once it’s rubbed in. And neem powder doesn’t smell bad to me unless a kind of grass like smell is bad to others? Maybe I have tame neem powder or something? Anyways, it works alright for about 5 hours and then I get breakthrough odor. How often per day do most of you reapply? Do you rewash your underarms before applying again, to wash away the bacteria?  I have always been excessively paranoid about smelling bad so this is a bit of a trial for me. I went to Lush yesterday and bought their T’eo. It smells super tasty, and it would be a double great thing if it works well. But I’d really like a homemade formula that’s inexpensive and effective. And I could save the Lush one for special dates.

It’s time for me to buy blades for my saftey razor. Which brand do you use? Or is any old blade ok?

Ok here’s a shameless advertising plug for a place I love dearly. Chagrin Valley Soap I’ve been shopping here for a couple of years. At one point I was doing the all natural thing with my hair and I love their shampoo bars! Ok, and a bunch of their other stuff too. And they’re all natural, have vegan friendly products and the packaging is plastic free.
image
I’ve been using my Nettle shampoo bar since the beginning of February and still have close to half left, so even though they cost a bit, they last quite awhile. I don’t wash my hair every day, and have to wash it less using the shampoo bars. I think commercial shampoos strip my scalp of all oils and then makes it go into overdrive to replace natural oils. I wish I’d had the patience and fortitude, or a bad sense of smell to wait and order Chagrin’s deodorant. At least it’s an option in the future.

Please let me know if you have any advice on the deodorants or razor blades 😀

11 responses to “Deodorant questions and other stuff

  1. I have been using a Coconut oil based deodorant from Love Myself Organics. It really works for keeping BO at bay. The downside is that it is in a plastic container! Argh! Check it out here: http://lovemyselforganics.com/collections/all

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Lush deodorant gave out before my recipe last night. I may not have put enough on though. I’ll have to keep at the experiments. I’ve got to get this mapped out before the 90+ degree temps hit my city!

    Like

  3. Thanks for posting this. I’m about to start experimenting with this too. Good to know I’m not alone. Will keep you posted, in case I find something working.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I make deodorant out of coconut oil, baking soda and corn starch. It lasts all day and even a second day when necessary! I’ve been using it for a few years now.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Do you use essential oils for the deodorant scent? I am also scared of smelling bad…I use La Vanilla’s Vanilla Grapefruit deo and its amazing!…and expensive! might try to figure out a homemade option…a little nervous tho…

    Like

  6. Because of your safety razor: in Germany the blades are all one size and so they fit for all. I’m using the ones of astra right now. The packaging says it is made for the US and Great Britain either.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Have you made your deodorant yet? I use equal part of coconut oil and baking soda with tea tree and lavender essential oils (essential oils are not only for a good smell but they do kill the nasty stinking bacteria). It works even better than commercial deodorant. Mine is very efficient that you’ll love to try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

