I don’t love my menstrual cup



I feel like a betrayer of all womanhood.  A letdown to women everywhere who are trying to free themselves from the tyranny of the man’s tampons and pads.

I have a Lunette cup size 2. The website instructed me to get this size even if I hadn’t had children since I’m over 30 and apparently everything goes slack or something the day after the big 3-0? I was considering a Diva Cup and I’m so glad I didn’t get that one as it seems to be the longest one out there. I’ve discovered rather belatedly that I have a low cervix, so the Diva would’ve been a killer.

I’m on round three of using this…thing. And I’m reaaalllly not fond of it. I’ve been assured over and over that I would grow to love the cup. I’ve even read through a ton of Amazon reviews trying to get a good range of opinions.  I’ve read articles where women sound like they might possibly have pictures of their cup adoringly placed next to their bedsides. So I wonder, why don’t I feel the love?

I’m not a squeamish person.  Investigating my body doesn’t make me uncomfortable. I’m not scared I’ll lose anything up there.  Nothing like that is going on. I’ve tried a couple of different folds. All of them kind of make me feel a little ummmmm…. abused down there, even with using lubrication.  Some folds don’t work with the lube as the cup just pops out of the fold from being too slippy. Taking the thing out is even more painful. Omg. Though I found some excellent tips on insertion and removal here . I’m 90% sure that I have the cup in a correct position. And to give myself and the cup credit I’ve only had it leak once from incorrectly placing it. I think I didn’t make sure it had opened all the way. Sometimes it won’t unfold without much maneuvering.  Some women say they can’t feel the cup. I can. Some say the cup is cleaner to deal with. Well not for me. Despite my efforts to shear off long swaths of toilet paper to lay aside before removal the whole thing gets messy. I’m so jealous of the women who are like oh if you’re in a public bathroom just empty it, pat it dry and reinsert. Uhh I’d have to carry lube in my purse, and not to mention I would have to get in a squatting position that would likely alarm fellow bathroom goers.

But, the good news is, that I can wear it for 12 hours with no problem, which is very cool. So it’s not like I have to deal with all these woes very often.  But that’s about the only highlight for me. I really do wish I loved the cup though.

I started this as a draft two days ago and since then I’ve decided I’m just going to try a different cup. I really don’t want to go back to tampons that are an environmental mess and not to mention the chemicals. So trying a different cup seems like a solution to all my whining.  I’ve decided to go with a Meluna medium classic for my next go round and I’m hoping I’ll have a picture of that cup beside my bed soon lol. “Ohhh cup, how I love thee…” I really wanna join the I-love-my-cup-can’t-believe-I-ever-lived-without-it club!

If you’re a hopeful cup user or just looking for info on cups, this video is helpful. She has a TON of videos on a range of period related stuff too.

14 responses to “I don’t love my menstrual cup

  1. I use diva cup and it took some getting used to before I could go about my business without being distracted by it. There was some discomfort when I was nearing the end of the period but at least I didn’t get chaffing or other irritation like pads did so that’s why the cup stays. So for me it’s not super amazing like reviews would have it but no period product is for me and the period itself isn’t amazing either. So don’t feel bad for not liking it, you’re with company there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank heavens I’m not alone!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The diva cup was pure misery for me! And I almost gave up until I discovered the soft medium Meluna. It’s heaven!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so relieved to hear that I am not alone…. I get messy as if I just stabbed a pig when I remove it. I need so much toilet paper that a tampon would be less garbage. I am hesitant to try another brand since I do not know if they are really different. They look all the same to me… It is not uncomfortable once it is in. However I have to pee every two hours with it so it must do something to my bladder…. I am not happy with the situation but feel like I do not want to try any further…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I went with the Meluna for a first time use and I love it, I think inserting/removing it is tricky but after a bit of practice it seems much better I think :’) x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: 10 questions you always wanted to ask Zero Waste Bloggers | zanygreenquest

  7. Hope you find a cup that works for you! I’ve got a FemmeCup and it was a bit fiddly at first, but now I love it. One thing that makes it easy to use here in Egypt is the fact that most toilets have a “shatafa”, like a water hose, attached nearby. This makes the whole cleaning of the cup much easier! When I travel, I simply carry a small empty water bottle with me. I fill it up at the public bathroom sink and bring it with me to the toilet.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Try cloth pads! I used to use a diva cup happilt for a few years, but about 6 years ago it started leaking for no reason and I can’t use it anymore. Like you, I need to try a different kind, but am petrified that THAT one won’t be good either and hate the thought of the mailing waste and possible cup waste and such. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

